The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.





In 2014 the governance of the AMA was substantially changed with the creation of a smaller Board of 11 to provide strategic guidance to the AMA and oversight of the financial management of the AMA Group.  The Board is accountable to the Members for the Company's business and operations.

The key responsibilities of the Board are: 

  • Leadership and strategic direction
  • Governance
  • Financial and risk management.

Board members  

Board members stand down every two years but are eligible for reappointment to a maximum of three terms. Terms run from the close of each Annual General Meeting. The current Board members are:

  • A/Pro Omar Khorshid - President
  • Dr Chris Moy - Vice President
  • Associate Professor Rosanna Capolingua
  • Dr Antonio Di Dio
  • Dr Bavahuna Manoharan
  • Dr Helen McArdle
  • Dr Kate Kearney
  • Associate Professor Gino Pecoraro (Chair)
  • Dr Gary Speck
  • Associate Professor William Tam
  • Dr Stephen Gourley