The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.

×

Search

×
02 Mar 2018

Welcome to this edition of the AMA Psychiatrists’ Newsletter.

I am Steve Kisely, Chair of the AMA Psychiatrists Group (AMAPG). I currently teach in the School of Medicine, University of Queensland and have a wide background in clinical psychiatry and research.

The newsletter covers:

  1. AMA position statement, Mental Health 2018
  2. NDIS Update
  3. Mental Health nurses and psychiatrists
  4. Update on Government programs and policy in Mental Health

A key objective for this newsletter is to help psychiatrists stay informed on key issues that are likely to affect us as a group, and inform us of wider developments. Optimal arrangements for mental health services won’t ‘land in place’ without the informed and active involvement of psychiatrists. This newsletter has been kept short to assist this process with information that is accessible and easy to digest. It is also crucial you let us know of any concerns so we can represent you better.

If you are interested in these issues or other work of the AMAPG, or have feedback on the newsletter (content or format), the current AMAPG members and their contact email addresses are:

Name

Email

Prof Steve Kisely

s.kisely@uq.edu.au

Dr Bill Pring

bpring@ozemail.com.au

Dr Choong-Siew Yong

csyong1@mac.com

A/Prof Robert Parker

robert.parker@nt.gov.au

Dr Gary Galambos

drggalambos@gmail.com

Dr Yvonne White

drywhite@bigpond.com

A/Prof Jeffrey Looi

jeffrey.looi@anu.edu.au

Dr Martin Nothling

mnothling@medconsultants.com.au

Dr Norman Lewis

drnlewis@bigpond.net.au

Dr Tom Stanley

stanleypractice@bigpond.com

Dr Thomas Patterson

tompaterson@awam.com.au

Dr Ajit Selvendra

ajitsel@gmail.com


AMAPG is open to new members. If you are interested in joining the AMAPG please feel free to discuss with me or other members of the group.


Published: 02 Mar 2018