The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.




The Australian Medical Association (AMA) is a membership organisation for medical practitioners. 

It is a national body, with a federal office in Canberra, and branches in each Australian state and territory. Members of each state branch are also members of the national body, and membership can easily be transferred from state to state.

The Australian Medical Association (South Australia) Inc is the South Australian AMA. Membership is open to South Australian medical practitioners. South Australian medical students may also join the AMA(SA) as student members, and can apply to become full members upon graduation.

The Federal AMA is governed by its Federal Council and the AMA(SA) by its State Council and Executive Board.

For more information, see our mission statement, and Code of Ethics.

Copies of the AMA(SA)'s Rules and Bylaws and the AMA(SA) Privacy Policy can be found at the PDF links below, and the Strategic Plan here.