The Australian Medical Association Limited and state AMA entities comply with the Privacy Act 1988. Please refer to the AMA Privacy Policy to understand our commitment to you and information on how we store and protect your data.




Council of General Practice

The AMA Council of General Practice (AMACGP) reports to the AMA Federal Council.

The role of the AMACGP is:

  1. To identify and represent the views of the AMA's general practice (GP) members.
  2. Inform GP members of current debate and represent their views to Federal Council.


Chair: Dr Patricia Montanaro

Secretariat: Ms Natalie Brown

Members: Drs Janice Fletcher (ex officio). Richard Heah, Michael Beckoff, Andrew Kellie, Annette Newson, Cathy Sanders, Peter Tait, Laureen Lawlor-Smith, Penny Need, Christopher Moy, Roger Sexton, Christopher Wagner and John Williams


There are a number of other Standing Committees of Council, which include both AMA(SA) Councillors and other members. These include:

Other committees and working groups are formed from time to time as the need arises.